No more smooth knees!

by Marilou Schnaderbeck

In my post An Example of Submission I stated that I needed to spend more time on my knees in submission to God.  When I wrote those words, it reminded me of a line in “The Fellowship of the Unashamed”.  This ‘mission statement’, credited to have been written by Dr. Bob Moorehead, has really encouraged me to want to be able to say this someday (my words in parentheses)…

“I am part of the fellowship of the unashamed.  I have the Holy Spirit power.  The die has been cast!  I have stepped over the line.  The decision has been made.  I am a disciple of Him.  I won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away, or be still.  My past is redeemed (thank you God!), my present makes sense (not yet), my future is secure!  I’m finished and done with low living, sight-walking, SMOOTH KNEES, colorless dreams, tame visions, worldly talking, cheap giving, and dwarfed goals.

I no longer need pre-eminence, prosperity, position, promotions, plaudits, or popularity.  I don’t have to be right.  I don’t have to be first.  I don’t have to be tops.  I don’t have to be recognized.  I don’t have to be praised.  I don’t have to be regarded.  I don’t have to be rewarded.  I now live by faith.  I lean into His presence.  I walk by patience, I’m uplifted by prayer, and I labor with power.  My face is set, my gait is fast, my goal is Heaven, my road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions are few, my Guide is reliable, and my mission is clear.

I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, turned back, deluded, or delayed.  I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of the enemy, pander at the pool of popularity, or meander in the maze of mediocrity.  I won’t give up, shut up, let up until I’ve stayed up, stored up, prayed up, paid up and preached up.

I am a disciple of Jesus.  I must go ’til He comes , give ’til I drop, preach ’til all know, and work ’til He stops me.  And when He comes for His own, He’ll have no problem recognizing me.  My banner will be clear. Amen!”

 NO…I’m certainly not there, which I will admit before my critics can.  In fact, as I was typing this out just now I kept thinking ‘you can’t do this’, ‘you are going to look like such a fool when you fail’, ‘this is not you at all!’,’you just failed at this an hour ago!’, ‘what are others going to think about you posting this’, ‘maybe others who have a better spiritual track record may be able to at least attempt this, but not you Marilou’.  Although I feel like crumbling under these accusation, I must respond with the Truth of God’s word that says in Philippians 1:6 “that He which hath begun a good work in [me] will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.”   So, I persevere as God continues to transform me into who He intended me to be.  So, for those who read this, please lovingly correct me when I’m wrong, giving me grace when I fail, encouraging me when I’m pursuing His Highest, and use Godly discernment when determining my heart.

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

