Manna- Be still my soul

“Be still my soul!  The Lord is on thy side; bear patiently the cross of grief or pain; leave to thy God to order and provide; in every change He faithful will remain.  Be still, my soul!  Thy best, thy heavenly Friend through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul.  Thy God doth undertake to guide the future as He has the past.  Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake; all now mysterious shall be bright at last.  Be still, my soul!  The waves and winds still know His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below.”      

 Be still, my soul: when dearest friends depart, and all is darkened in the vale of tears, then shalt thou better know His love, His heart, Who comes to soothe thy sorrow and thy fears.
Be still, my soul: thy Jesus can repay
From His own fullness all He takes away.

Be still, my soul: the hour is hastening on when we shall be forever with the Lord.  When disappointment, grief and fear are gone, sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.  Be still, my soul: when change and tears are past
all safe and blessèd we shall meet at last.

Be still, my soul: begin the song of praise on earth, believing, to Thy Lord on high; acknowledge Him in all thy words and ways, so shall He view thee with a well pleased eye.  Be still, my soul: the Sun of life divine
through passing clouds shall but more brightly shine.

Hymn by Ka­tha­ri­na von Schle­gel

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in God's Sovereignty, Peace, Trustworthiness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Manna- Be still my soul

  1. Cherie Chesebrough says:

    Thank you my beautiful sister, these words are precious to me. I love you!

  2. Betty Abel says:

    This is verse 1 and 2 from the hymn: Be Still, My Soul – One of my most favorites. The melody is Finlandia – Jean Sibelius. Words are by Katharina von Schlegel.

    Third verse is:
    Be still, my soul! the hour is hastening on when we shall be forever with the Lord,
    When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone, sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restore.
    Be still, my soul! when change and tears are past, All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

    • Marilou says:

      Thank you Karen and Mom for sharing some background on this hymn. I’m including it here for others to read:

      “Little is known about Katharina von Schlegel, the German author of this poem. Her words, joined with the haunting strains of “Finlandia” by Sibelius, have made this a classic hymn. It was widely sung during WW II when It comforted an entire nation. Virgin Bachman of Our Saviour Lutheran Church in Port Huron, MI, is a good example. Writing in his church newsletter, he said:

      “I had probably sung ‘Be Still, My Soul’ many times before, but it was not until I sang it in a small stucco church in a tiny village in France during WW II that it became part of my life.

      The war in Europe was going badly. The news from the front was disheartening. We had suffered reverses. We were edgy, confused, and discouraged. It was at this crucial time that some Chaplain arranged a service in this quaint church somewhere in France. It seemed the roof of that little village church actually opened up as we weary, dirty, GIs blended our voices under the leadership of that Chaplain and the church’s old pump organ.

      Halfway through the service it happened. Softly the organ began and we sang, ‘Be still my soul, the Lord is on thy side.’ How badly it was needed. It was as though the Lord was speaking to me in a very personal way. ‘Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain’ – the cross of war with its hardships, misery, separation and pain.

      As we began the second stanza, ‘Be still my soul, Thy God doth undertake to guide the future as He hath the past,’ God seemed to whisper, ‘Don’t give up, I’m still in command, yes, even here. I’ll guide the future as I have the past.’

      The thoughts of dead and missing friends came as through a choked-up throat I sang, ‘Be still my soul, though dearest friends depart…’ Soothing, personal assurance came at that moment and in that spot. With renewed spirit I was able to sing the final stanza, ‘Be still my soul, when change and tears are past, all safe and blessed we shall meet at last.’”

Leave a Reply

