“Forgiven”

My dear friend Kate and I were just discussing how our more significant mistakes/failures/sins have a tendency to label us (either because we can’t forgive ourselves or others won’t see us any other way) and we can become crushed under the weight of that label.  Even after repenting of my sins and asking for forgiveness, I felt I needed to hold onto guilt for some kind of penance or to prove my sincerity of sorrow and repentance.  The knowledge of forgiveness didn’t bring relief for me and I am not alone in this.  I can think of two beautiful women who have held onto the guilt from their past for more than 30-40 years!  We become so identified with that label, that we don’t move on.

Last summer I heard a song by Sanctus Real entitled “Forgiven” and it was a turning point for me in this area.  Through my studies on God’s grace and upon hearing the words in this song, I felt the freedom to let the weight of my failures start to fall away; the ‘loss of weight’ from my shoulders was actually palpable…and it was wonderful!  What joy and relief.  Nothing had actually changed on God’s end.  He had forgiven me of everything the very first time I asked for it and “remembered them no more”.  It also didn’t change circumstances or how my actions affected others, but it was a change in my relationship with God and with myself.

I’ve included an audio link to the song below.  There are a few lines that made the most impact.  They are the following:

“In this life I know what I’ve been, but here in Your arms I know what I am…I’m forgiven”

“I don’t have to carry the weight of who I’ve been…I’m forgiven.”

“When I don’t fit in, and I don’t feel like I belong anywhere…when I don’t measure up to much in this life…I know I’m a treasure in the arms of Christ.

Christ died so that we could have forgiveness because He loves us, and was resurrected so that we could have eternal life with Him.  I pray that you will have a blessed Resurrection Day!

01 Forgiven  (click on the link to the left to hear Forgiven, by Sanctus Real)

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Forgiveness, Growth, Hope, Love, Redemption, Sin, Spiritual Battles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Forgiven”

  1. Mark says:

    As far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:12
    Wonderful post – we have forgiveness in Christ. But we have to remember to forgive ourselves as well.

Leave a Reply

