” I really need to send her a note”

I was talking with a classy gal at our kids’ school whose family is being affected by a serious health issue and she was sharing how cared for she felt due to the words, cards and calls others had extended to her family in light of this situation.  At the end of our chat, we went on to agree that because we have been on the receiving end of these sentiments, it should prod us to take action to those MANY times we say to ourselves “I really need to send so&so a note”.

This little chat has been lingering in my thoughts, and it brought to mind a couple individuals who have actually reached out to me in very simple yet purposeful ways and their kindness has made such an impression on me.  Because these ladies probably don’t realize the significant impact of their kind words and gestures, I would like them to know.  I believe if I received such a note I would be encouraged to know my words and gestures lifted others up and helped them.  It would probably prompt me to continue loving others in this manner; that my gestures made a difference.  So, I mailed out a couple notes this morning.  They were very simple yet filled with appreciation and I am happy my sentiments finally made it to paper/envelope/stamp!

Interesting however unexpected when determining whether I would finally send out these notes, my intentions were met with spiritual attacks.  As simple as this gesture was, it was clear Satan tried to sway me from doing this.  Things kept popping in my head such as “This is stupid, they aren’t even going to remember this”, “You just read more into their words and gestures than they intended”, “Marilou, you are the last one anyone would care to hear from”, “You’re just trying to stir things up”, “Just hold off awhile and pray about it” (how sneaky is that one!), “They are going to think you are ridiculous.”  The excuses not to send a note just kept sliding into my thoughts.  Well… after entertaining these lies only to eventually see them for what they were, I was resolved to send these little envelopes out.  Not only did I want these ladies to know how their kindness affected me, but now I also wanted to send them because Satan didn’t want me to!  He does NOT want us loving each other, encouraging one another, lifting each other up.  He wants us to feel isolated, forgotten, unimportant, desperate, and without hope.  Building each other up only causes unity, and he hates that!  So, that being the case, I will heed the following handful of verses and continue to reach out to those both needing love and appreciating those who have loved well.  Will you join me?

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” (Ephesians 4:29)

“The tongue has the power of life and death” (Proverbs 18:21)

“Comfort each other and edify one another, just as you also are doing.” (1 Thess 5:11)

“We sent Timothy, who is our brother…to strengthen and encourage you in your faith.” (1 Thessalonians 3:2)

“Let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” (Hebrews 10:25)

“May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus.” (Romans 15:5)

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Love, Spiritual Battles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

