God doesn’t have favorites

As with other families, I am guessing, my siblings and I have fun with one another in determining which of us was/is our parent’s favorite.  We then proceed to try to prove our point by bringing to light the things that each other has been allowed to do or by the things they’ve given us over the years.  It’s brought about some pretty funny conversations, though I believe it annoys my parents.

I just read Galatians 2:6 where Paul has written “…But from those who seemed to be something-whatever they were it makes no difference to me; God shows personal favoritism to no man-for those who seemed to be something added nothing to me.”  This struck me this morning because so often I assume that if God is blessing someone with attention, money, position, opportunities, friends, etc He loves them a bit more than me.  And if He takes those things away from me or maybe never gives them to me to begin with, then I must not be as important to Him as others.  My husband Mark and I just dissected this topic on one of our somewhat nightly walks this week.  Why does God bless some with so much (in this instance we were referring to material things), especially if those that are blessed with these things seem so undeserving.  An initial feeling that surfaced is that maybe some are not in God’s favor.  Well, one could quickly say that none of us are deserving of anything.  Secondly, as He said to Job “where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?”  Essentially God is saying He created the world, He can do whatever He wants.  And to follow-up with another passage from Job, (37:5b) “He does great things which we cannot comprehend.”  His ways are unknown to us.  Our perspectives are so limited.

So, getting back to my insecurities that God has favorites and I may not be one of them because I am not in the same favorable situation as someone else… His Truth is clearly stated…”God shows personal favoritism to no man”.  Don’t you just love how God will provide you The Truth?  The Bible is God’s Word, He is telling us through these beautiful pages what the absolute truth is..those things for which we can confidently and unwaveringly stand on.  In this instance He has confirmed that No, He does not love one child more than another, nor does He favor one over another.  He has different plans for each of us, it will be for our good… now stop whining and get on with your day!

Now I can’t deny that there does seem to be some element of favoritism in earthly families- certainly there was in my family…Brad seemed to be able to do whatever he wanted!! 😉  But I think the appearance of favoritism rears its head because we are imperfect humans who allow feelings to control us sometimes.  If I was a child who happened to bring a lot of heartache and difficulties to my parents, then another of their children would probably be easier and seem more enjoyable, therefore seemingly a favorite.   But as I so often do, I wrongly transfer human feelings, experiences, and reactions onto God, assuming He handles things and sees things the same as humans do.

Thank you Father, for being so much bigger than I make You out to be.  Thank you that Your love is perfect, Your patience is long; Your grace is inexhaustible, and Your ways are beyond finding out.  I am sorry for thinking of You in human terms and for questioning Your ways, please forgive me.  Thank you for the Truth you so plainly showed me today.  Please write it on my heart, so that I don’t forget.  In Jesus’ name,  Amen.

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Children, God's Sovereignty, Truth, Understanding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

