Hearty Mums

by Maxine Hoover, guest contributor

I have three different colored mums planted to the left of my deck area in the back yard within my herb garden.  These poor little things – it’s a wonder they’ve made
it.  The soil is dry, it’s been hot and not a lot of nutrient is left in the ground.  If that’s not enough…in the winter, FEET of snow and ice gets piled on top of them because of me shoveling off the deck.  I’ve been nursing these plants along for a few years with
Miracle-Gro in hopes they would not just survive, but thrive.  And, well…this year they did!

As I was admiring them the other day, God brought to mind some of the seasons in life we go through – one’s that wouldn’t be described as thriving (maybe more like just surviving) and are sometimes very painful and all you can do is barely sprout your head up out of the soil… let alone bloom.  My mums are a reminder of such a season in my life, as I was given one of the mums by Marilou several years back after my first miscarriage.  Although the memory of my miscarriage is at times painful (as one is left to wonder was it a boy or a girl; WHO would they have turned out to be as they would be much older-and life easier; would he or she be neurotypical?)… it doesn’t hurt as much as it once did.  God has led me through that difficult season, as well a several others, but He has made me stronger as a result.  Really it’s only by God’s grace – and the company of very good friends, I might add, that we make it through.

Maxine is a long-lasting bloom in my beautiful bouquet of friends.  God brought us together in college. Maxine is a wife and hearty (and hardy) mum of three very sweet and highly imaginative boys, one of which is diagnosed with Aspergers.  Maxine enjoys birds, gardening, likes to cook and recommends the Pumpkin Muffins at Panera. I’m so blessed to have this beautiful woman in my life.  Thank you Max, for letting me post your words. – Marilou

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Affliction, Children, God's Sovereignty, Grace, Sorrow and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hearty Mums

  1. Betty says:

    Enjoyed your analogy about the mums, Maxine. They truly are hearty! When everything else is dying or dead, along comes the mums in vibrant colors that endure through the early frost and diminishing sun. God takes our dark and dry and painful seasons and brings about something beautiful – surprising even us. “they shall be like a tree planted beside the water that brings forth it’s fruit in it’s season.”

Leave a Reply

