Our Personal Designer

This past week I flipped on the TV to provide some noise as I was cooking.  For lack of something more interesting, I started to watch ‘My Fair Wedding’.  The premise of this show is for the wedding designer to breathe life into a bride’s home-grown and sometimes unusual idea for her wedding.  Although I’ve only watched one whole episode (I’ve probably seen more commercials for it than anything) it seems that all of the themes the brides have for their big day are usually met with an underwhelmed or ‘you’ve got to be kidding me’ sort of reaction from the designer.  Despite the pathetic start to the plans, in the end the designer pulls together a fantastical, over-the-top wedding.

With design shows, I’m usually interested in all the creative elements that are revealed for the purpose of being able give or withhold my stamp of approval, but THIS TIME I found myself more intrigued by how the designer was relating to the bride.  The designer was very attentive and doting.  Telling her how each dress was more beautiful on her than the last.  How her cake was going to be unbelievably lovely and delicious. That her bridesmaids, despite their vastly different body shapes, not only were ALL going to love the dress he picks out for them, but will look stunning and yes, definitely will be able to wear it again!!!! (just kidding, he didn’t say the last bit.)  Essentially reassuring the bride that despite how things may appear at different stages of the process, it was his goal to create a wedding of her dreams.  At the end of the episode, the designer showed the bride all that he had done for her and her special day.  He fulfilled his promise to her to make her and her wedding beautiful.  She was wide-eyed, overwhelmed and so excited!!!  The bride expressed to the designer that her idea had been so pale and simple compared to his.  He kept his promise to give her a beautiful wedding and it was so much more  than she could have hoped or imagined.

As I’m watching this I’m thinking wouldn’t it be nice to have someone like that at my side all the time….telling me how beautiful I am, arranging for me to try different things, holding my hand when I don’t know what is next, surprising me, connecting me with people I need, teaching me things, and seeing to all the details.  I quickly and humbly realized… I do.

Jesus Christ waits for us to hand over to Him our pathetic/pale/simple ideas for our life.  In fact, He waits for us to trust Him enough to hand over our entire life!  From that point He promises to walk with us from one phase of our life to another, and not leave us (John 14:16b).  As the plans unfold, we may feel some of His ‘design ideas’ are an odd choice/out of place/unnecessary/maybe down right ugly.  Or, it could be that in some instances we exert our independence for some selfish or distrusting reason and make a poor ‘design’ choice (we sin) , and end up making a big ole’ mess.  In either case, we may wonder how could anything beautiful be made out of this?  Unlike human designers who cannot for see problems (although they can try to anticipate them) Jesus knows all that will happen in our lives as His perspective is eternal and is able to take all things and incorporate them into His bigger, more grand design (Romans 8:28).  Our Designer is enthralled by us and loves us so deeply (Ephesians 4:19, John 3:16; Romans 8:35) that NOTHING but the best for us will do.  He relishes being able to give us good things (Matthew 7:11) and is so excited for us as He can see His plan come together.  If we give him control of the design, He’ll carefully trim out the unnecessary and then add to the design the precise elements that will mold our hearts and minds into something beautiful.  No doubt we will be tempted to pass judgement on the work in progress based on our limited perspective, or by what the world says or even by comparing our ‘design’ to what He is doing with someone else. He reminds us not care about what man thinks or what God is doing in someone else’s life, but to focus on His face and what He thinks of us.  (Colossians 3:2, 1 Samuel 16:7b; Galatians 1:10)

Just as the wedding show illustrated, Jesus will make our life beautiful if we surrender to Him.   Our ideas for our life are so shallow, so pale, SO underwhelming compared to the plans God has for us. (Jeremiah 29:11)  And like the television bride expressed about her wedding designer, Jesus will take our limited ideas for our lives and He will do exceedingly abundantly ABOVE ALL that we ask or think. (Ephesians 3:20).  When we stand before our Designer someday, (and we all will!) I hope all who read this can then say “Jesus… You did all as You promised.  Every little element in my life You purposely brought together to add to the beauty of Your design.  I am so relieved and happy that I gave it all to You to handle.  My life is more than I could have ever hoped and imagined!!!”

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Love, Promises, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

