Tears of Thanksgiving

I am one who does not cry very much.  I don’t know if it’s my heritage, my personality or a learned trait, but regardless of the reason, I feel a bit freakish because of it.  Over the past couple years, however tears have come more readily.  They come most often when I’m alone with God, but I have spontaneous ones that spill down my cheeks while at church, and I love those because not only do they make me feel more human but they are born by nothing less than my love and awe of my God.  I had some of those tears this morning as we sang the hymn “My Saviors Love” by Charles Gabriel.

“I stand amazed in the presence of Jesus, the Nazarene, and wonder how He could love me, a sinner, condemned, unclean.

(Refrain) How wonderful, how marvelous! And my song shall ever be. How wonderful! How marvelous! Is my Savior’s love for me!

For me it was in the garden He prayed “Not My will, but Thine.”  He had no tears for His own griefs but sweat drops of blood for mine.  (refrain)

In pity, angels beheld Him and came from the world of light to comfort Him in the sorrows He bore for my soul that night. (Refrain)

He took my sins and my sorrows, He made them His very own; He bore the burden to Calvary, and suffered and died alone. (Refrain)

When, with the ransomed in glory, His face I at last shall see, ‘Twill be my joy thro’ the ages to sing of His love for me.”(Refrain)

Jesus made my sins His own.  He took the awful, disgusting, shame-filled sins upon Himself so that I might be freed from their bondage.  What wonderful words and they were such a fresh reminder of the work Christ did on the cross by taking on my horrible sins.  Yes, it was work for Him to take my sins.  He didn’t just hang there and experience physical pain (which was great), but He experienced all the shame, devastation, and anguish caused by my sin…the ones that I hadn’t even committed yet but would.  And not just one of my horrible sins, but them all.  And not just my sins, but everyone’s sins. He was willing to take them on and be rejected by His Father for my sake and yours.  I didn’t even love Him yet, but He loved me enough to carry this burden.  What incredible, unfathomable, wonderful, marvelous love Jesus has for us.

Thank you my precious Jesus.  Thank you for the cleansing tears I experience.  Thank you for making me whole.

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Sacrifice, Salvation, Sin, Tears and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tears of Thanksgiving

  1. Yes, thank you Jesus, I am not worthy yet you still love me. Praise God, great post!

  2. Anonymous says:

    These are the tears that God saves in a bottle – precious to Him!

Leave a Reply

