Holding on too long

Philippians 3:13 “…forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead.”

Galatians 5:1 “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of [bondage].”

This morning I took a monumental step.  It was not done with intension or fore-thought for today.  It is something, however that I have thought about for a while, but was holding out some hope for a change in circumstance.  This morning, however when it crossed my path again, I realized holding on to it was preventing me from finding what I was looking for.  I believe it was the right decision.  This morning, with a sense of resignation and a deep breath, I threw away two different earrings that were favorites of mine that no longer have ‘mates’.  One was very stylish and really enjoyed wearing them.  The other style was my go-to pair; I could leave them in for days/weeks and wouldn’t have to think about them because they just went with everything.  I lost one (I believe) to accidentally throwing it into a Salvation Army kettle when I went to grab some change and forgot I had put my earrings in the my coin purse of my wallet so they wouldn’t get lost in the bottom my purse!  I don’t know where the other one fell out, but at the next point where I went to play with my earring (because that’s what I do…) it wasn’t there.  2 years for the one and a couple of months for the other, I held out some hope that their mates would just magically reappear in my life.  Neither were expensive, so the single earring really has no monetary value.  So, why the decision to toss them today?  For far too long, these two earrings were getting in the way of finding other pairs of earrings that could actually accomplish the goal of me getting dressed.  I would have to push them around with my finger to try to see what was underneath them, or they would get entangled with other jewelry and become a frustration.

Obviously this is not a highly spiritual story in its own right, but it made me think…what else am I hanging on to for far too long?  What else is preventing me from moving on or inhibiting growth or getting in the way of what great things God has planned for my future?  A pair of jeans that no longer fit?  Stuff in my house that I don’t use that others need? Pining for a friendship lost?  Desire for forgiveness from another? Bitterness from an offense?  Poor self-image?  An old image of someone else that I have not allowed to mature along with my own growth, either emotionally or spiritually? An unhealthy habit?  A particular memory?  Approval from someone?  An idea of what I would like my life to look like?  A notion that I will never change?

Whatever the things are that I am holding on to that bring no value to my life and, and in fact make it more complicated or conflicted, are things that I need to let drop out of my mind because they are in a sense, a form of bondage.  Especially so are those things for which I have no control.  I need to pare down on the things that I allow in my mind and heart so that my thoughts are more singular and focused for the things that are in front of me.  If God determines that these other things need my attention at some point, then I’m sure He’ll bring it back into my line of vision.

Isaiah 43:18″Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old.  See, I am doing a new thing.”

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Freedom, Growth, Hope and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

