There is Hope

Are you feeling hopeless?  If so, my heart aches for you; it sincerely does.  It’s a drowning existence.  It feels defeating, crushing, so lonely, insurmountable, futureless, dreamless, painful, unchangeable, boxed in…take your pick or choose them all.  The pain is intense and thoughts can become dark and desperate.

The enemy of your soul, Satan, wants you to believe that nothing will ever get better.  Satan wants you to believe that this chaotic situation you are in is beyond fixing and no matter what you do, things will only get worse. He wants you to focus on this cloud of depression you live in day after day and that it will never go away and the only way to obtain the peace you’ve been longing for is in death.   Satan’s goal is to isolate you and make you think your family and friends would be just fine without you; that it would actually be better for them.  Please do not listen to him…IT IS ALL A LIE!

Although I can’t honestly say I was ever completely hopeless due to the knowledge that I had given my life to Jesus and was assured that this earth was not my home, but I had been to the point where my worldly feelings and thoughts overwhelmed me and I saw no way out of my circumstances at that time.  I could not imagine how things could possibly get better, even a little.  All I could think about was all that was wrong and because I couldn’t figure this out on my own, then in my mind there was no solution.  Satan was trying to make me think I got myself into trouble and I had to get myself out.  And since I didn’t have a solution, Satan was telling me my situation was immoveable, unchangeable, unrecoverable.  I would be better off gone.

I can attest that yes indeed, Satan is a liar.  He lied to me and is lying to you.  I will tell you beyond a shadow of a doubt that your situation is not hopeless.  I am not emphatic about much, but I cannot say this any stronger…God will not fail you; He will deliver you as He delivered me.  I was in such a wretched state, but He delivered me through (not from) the consequences and He has made my life new.  If you will hand control of your life and the whole messy situation over to Jesus, He WILL see you through.  I know it may seem impossible to believe since our world has impressed upon us that we have to figure everything out for ourselves; that we have to ‘see’ in order to believe.  What Jesus is asking though is to trust…to believe without seeing.  A few years ago I was given a quote by my mom, written by an unknown author, that says:

“To Trust where we cannot trace is to give our God the full sovereignty that He longs for.”

Although trusting One so completely can seem scary, I took comfort in the thought that even though a situation looked unsolvable and irredeemable, it was purposeful.  God yearns for our complete trust.  Sometimes He will allow you to get to a point where you cannot help yourself and you have two options:  trust God who loves you immensely and who will pull you out of the mire or succumb to the lies of Satan, who hates you deeply and wants to ruin you.

What I find even more incredible is He won’t just pull you up from the cliff from which you are dangling.  If you continue to trust Him, He will bring these circumstances around for your good! Do you think, like I had, that your future is bleak; that all dreams are done?  The following scripture says otherwise:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

I felt compelled to write these words after hearing of another suicide and my heart aches for those in such a mental state that they think dying is the best, or only option, when I know that is just a lie being feed to them by the enemy of our soul.  I say it again, God will rescue, He will redeem and He will restore to you a future and a hope.  He does indeed have plans for you!

“Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for what you have and continue to do in my life.  I pray for those who have no hope and are desperate.  I pray that they will choose to trust you and not in their feelings.  Please soften their hearts and may they be drawn to the hope that You offer. Amen”

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Hope, Spiritual Battles, Suicide, Trust and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There is Hope

  1. great post. ~~~Michele

  2. hisdaughter2 says:

    Reblogged this on For the Other Woman.

Leave a Reply

