Care Instructions

“A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver. Like an earring of gold and an ornament of fine gold is a wise rebuker to an obedient ear.” Proverbs 25:11,12

If you read my previous blog, you know that I had spilled a sticky, greasy mess all over the front of my favorite coat while leaving for a New Year’s Eve get together. Since we were in a hurry and the mess was so drippy, I peeled off my coat and immediately threw it in the washer. When I pulled the coat out of the dryer the next morning, after washing it, I discovered my coat had a rather large grease stain from the waist down and the fur trim was all matted. The spill created the stain, but my actions going forward only made the problem worse. Now, it’s not as though I haven’t washed a few things in my life. I have about 35 years of laundry experience under my apron strings. That being said, I have had the displeasure of pulling out a few shrunken sweaters or a load of pink underwear from the wash in my years, due to lack of attention or misapplied assumptions based on past washing experience. Now it would seem this coat would be added to my list of casualties.

As I was preparing to throw my coat in the washer a second time, the little white tag with washing instructions peaked out of the folds of the coat. “Maybe I should read what I was supposed to have done to help restore this particular coat to it’s pre-spill condition.”  I was surprised by what I found.  The tag was quite extensive as care instructions go.  The designer of the coat put much effort into addressing the care of the different elements of the coat and specifics on what NOT to do. As I read all the particulars I was lamenting the fact that I hadn’t taken the time to read it before doing anything that night as I hadn’t done much right according to these care instructions. I had just plowed ahead and let my impatience, assumptions, and disgust direct my actions. 

This incident with my coat made me consider the lack of care used by many of us when responding to or trying to address a sin in someone else’s life. Many times we let things fly out of our mouths without much consideration or we allow emotions to dictate our actions, neither of which can be counted on to produce effective or God-honoring outcomes. In fact, this type of response sometimes prolongs the healing process (repentance, restoration, reconciliation), if not sabotage the restorative effort by making the situation seem hopeless.

How then do we need to respond to these situations? First, we need to take a breath and not react on emotion or assumption. Then, during that time of stepping back, we need to look to The Designer to find out how to proceed with the restoration process for this specific individual. To assume we know the whole of the situation or know just what this person needs or how they should be handled prior to seeking God’s instruction is reckless. Our Designer, Creator, Father formed us out of different ‘materials’-temperments, sensitivities, personalities, and experiences and therefore the care to be taken can be just as varied. Only our sovereign Designer has the first hand knowledge of the kind of care and handling each of us needs, based on the plans He has for our lives. Once He has been called upon for wisdom and insight, and IF we sense God is instructing US to proceed (and we may not always be the appropriate choice to be involved), then we can carefully and humbly come alongside this individual, applying His love, His truth, His grace, His mercy, His compassion on this very precious child of His.

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Christian, Relationships, Restoration, Sin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

