Don’t worry: Easy to say, Hard to do

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

“Easy to say, hard to do” are the words my dad gave me when I told him that I was thinking about ‘not worrying’ and so began our conversation as we sat at his kitchen counter…him eating his Rice Krispies and me drinking my coffee…and both of us gazing out the kitchen window. He asked what I was worried about and I said it’s lots of things. It is because of my dad that I even started thinking on the topic of worry because I was his caretaker last night and I didn’t want him to fall on my watch so I acted like a new mother, worrying and checking on him all through the night. Every little noise over the baby monitor and I would bounce out of bed and go see if he needed help. Earlier as I helped him get ready for bed I had asked him to call me when he had to go to the bathroom and he said he would, which gave me very little peace as he has a mind of his own. Well, I should have had him pinky-swear because several times I came in there to check on him and I caught him getting back into bed after having successfully used the bathroom himself!! Morning FINALLY came and all my worrying was for nothing; he did just fine. My worry robbed me of peace and rest.

During our conversation, my dad and I both acknowledged that it is probably impossible to completely wipe out all worry since we are imperfect humans, but also acknowledged that there really is no benefit to worrying. Worrying does nothing to change what will actually happen, as God states in scripture, and it only robs one of peace as it did me that night.

What I can do instead of worry is acknowledge a difficulty, pray about it (not as a last resort but a first step), act on it as God leads me (and not from a place of worry) and then I need to let the issue rest; guarding my mind from fixating on it. Yes, I realize bad things will happen, but when they do, I will be in a better frame of mind to make good decisions if I am starting from a place of peace, rather than from a place of fret and unrest.

Those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint Isaiah 40:31

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

