God’s Spoiled Brat

I contacted a school earlier this week to donate something on behalf of the physician I work for and the individual I spoke with referred to himself as God’s Spoiled Brat. He said “Other people are God’s Children, but I’m His spoiled brat. He gives me everything I ask for!” It made me laugh…and then it made me think.

If we questioned our own situations, I am confident we would all be able to label ourselves as that. Do I ever think of myself as spoiled, as in, having an abundance of; asking and then receiving; and getting what I don’t deserve? I would have to say yes, both physically and spiritually. I have so much, yet everyday I ask for more, and amazingly that’s what our Father tells us to do. He tells us to ask, to bring Him our petitions, that He will give abundantly more than we can ever ask or even imagine. Just as most earthly fathers gifted with wealth do, our Heaveny Father lavishes His richness on us and is pleased to do it! I would have to conclude the brat part comes in when we don’t acknowledge His majesty, don’t respect His holiness, don’t understand where we would be without His mercy, aren’t grateful for all the unrequested blessings He gives us, nor are we sincerely and profoundly thankful for the petitions He grants. We are brats when we feel we are in any way entitled to any of the things we request and/or receive.

It is not my intent to expound further on this, as I’m sure some one else could do it more profoundly and completely. I just wanted to share another ‘brothers’ view on his relationship with our Father and to conclude that yes, I too am un-BELIEVABLY spoiled, and to acknowledge that I am most certainly, and embarrasingly, a brat….but I’ll work on that.

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Child of God, Christian, Heavenly Father, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Spoiled Brat

  1. Teresa Dawn says:

    I’m spoiled by God too ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

