My namesake

“How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!” Romans 10:15

Growing up I did not like my name.  It was not a common name, and I felt like an odd duck among all the Jennys, Saras, Beths, Nicoles, Tiffanys, and Beckys that I grew up with.  It wasn’t until my mom told me why she named me Marilou that I started to think much differently.

In this short video Marilou McCully, along with the other surviving wives of the missionaries killed in Ecuador on January 8, 1956, recounted why she considered the mission field, the events leading up to the slaying of her husband, and how she responded to God’s plans.  I so appreciate her transparency and emotions, even 45 years later.  She knew God was faithful, but also wondered what the future held.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=ycnKaZWyHcc

Marilou McCully has since past away, but I did have the opportunity to exchange letters with her when I was in my 20s.  She told me that she was pleased that I had her name, and added that several Auca children bore that name as well.  It made me giggle.

About hisdaughter2

A daughter of the King only through His love and grace.
This entry was posted in Christian, Christian Living, God's Will, Spiritual Mentors, Trust and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

